Deion Sanders’ HOF Induction Makes Six Cowboys in Six Years

Deion facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditlinkedinmail

And the Hall of Fame Cowboys keep on coming.  Deion Sanders named on of seven 2011 inductees into the Pro Football Hall of Fame today, along with Shannon Sharpe, Marshall Faulk, Richard Dent, NFL Films founder Ed Sabol, and NFL Veteran’s Committee nominees, LBs Chris Hanburger and Les Richter.

Sanders played five years with the Atlanta Falcons, the team which drafted him, and five more with the Dallas Cowboys from 1995 through 1999.  Sanders was a key mid-season addition to the ’95 squad which lost starting CB Kevin Smith to a season-ending injury in the ’95 season opener.  Sanders fortified the secondary for the Cowboys last Super Bowl team.  He dabbled at playing two ways, though his induction comes entirely for his skill as a cornerback and as a punt returner.

Sanders election makes him the sixth Cowboy to enter the Hall in the last six years.  The list:

Rayfield Wright, Class of 2006
Troy Aikman, Class of 2006
Michael Irvin, Class of 2007
Bob Hayes, Class of 2009
Emmitt Smith, Class of 2010
Deion Sanders, Class of 2011

Congratulations, Deion.

Related News

  • Dez Bryant Wide Receiver Headlines A Strong Group
  • 2014 Dallas Cowboys A Season Of Crossroads
  • DeMarco Murray Rushing Attempts – The Power Of 20
  • Cowboys Backup QB – In the Weedens
  • Cowboys Camp Preview: Little Matters in Week One
  • Tight End Dallas Walker
  • Dallas Cowboys Training Camp 2014 Preview: Get Your Popcorn Ready
  • Cowboys Offense at Training Camp